Elba Festival Prize 2018


The Festival has always been dedicated to the promotion of young and promising artists. For this reason, the Elba Festival Prize was established in 2003 and dedicated to the memory of Giuseppe Pietri, the 19th century composer born on Elba. This prize is awarded every year to a young musician who shows talent and dedication to music. The first Elba Festival Prize was given to the then 18-year-old Russian pianist Miroslav Kultyshev, who 4 years later won the prestigious International Tchaikovsky Competition and the Monte Carlo Piano Masters in 2012.

The Prize is awarded, after a careful consideration, by the Festival organizers and with the support of the Association Amici del Festival.

FLAVIA NAPOLITANO, violin — Elba Festival Prize 2018


Born in Madrid in 2007, Flavia began playing violin at the age of 7 with violinist Ana Hernandez Ramòs. At the age of 9 she played as a soloist the Bach Concerto BWV 1041 with Philharmonic Orchestra of Kaunas. From 2015 she studied at the Pinerolo Academy in the class of Adrian Pinzaru. In 2016 she was admitted in Turin Conservatory, in the class of Piergiorgio Rosso.
In 2015 Flavia won the 2nd prize in Salieri competition, in 2018 she won a scholarship at International competition Postacchini in Fermo, the First prize at National competition E Lucevan le Stelle in Parma, and the First Prize at Val Tidone.
In 2014 she played with orchestra conducted by David Marco at Festival Pirineos Classic. In 2015 she took part in Musica d’Estate in Bardonecchia, performing Concerto op. 35 by Oskar Reading. In 2016 she participated at Torino Classical Music Festival and in the project Cinema ’900 for the restoration of a silent film Il Fauno (Febo Mari 1917), in collaboration with the Museum of Cinema in Torino.
In 2018 Flavia played the Concerto n.22 by Giambattista Viotti at Nicolini Conservatory in Piacenza.
Flavia participated in chamber music classes of Xenia ensemble and in the master classes with professors Sergej Krylov, Boris Garlitsky, Dmitri Chiclov, Georgy Levinov, Ilya Grubert, Yair Kless, Kirill Troussov.